January 1, 2015 Week #24 “Happy New Year!”

Whoa. It is 2015. Who would have the thought that though being lowered into hundred-year-old trees, belly flopping onto the floor while playing hide-n-sneak in Yosemite, ding dong ditching Christmas goodies, fourth-of-July-diet-coking, bee stings in the face, adventuring in Israel, and nearly killing my father on a jet ski (multiple times) I would wind up–nearly unscathed–in 2015?

I stand all amazed.

That little circle on the ground is, indeed, a rat's head. Bless his heart, he must have had a rough night.

That little circle on the ground is, indeed, a rat’s head. Bless his heart, he must have had a rough night.

Ha! How are ya?! How was Christmas and Your New Year? I spent mine in the bathroom feeling like I was going to die after a lovely dinner at a member’s home. The garbage disposal seems to have met her match. I was sick all night and hardly slept, but after some nice NyQuil, sleep overcame me and I woke up to just a slight sore throat. Much better than the about-to-throw-up-and-die feeling I had all night.

I’m telling you–miracles everyday.

This week was awesome. It was slow, I’ll admit, but we have seen miracles, of which I want to tell you a few. Buckle up:

We had splits on Tuesday and it was seriously awesome. Hermana Alexander and I are two peas in a pod, but splits are such an awesome opportunity to step back from your companionship and evaluate from a more “outsider perspective” and improve. That’s how I feel, at least. Anyway, I was with Sister Hall–English (blughck, I know)–and we saw a bunch of incredible people.  At one point, we missed the person we were trying to see, so we decided to knock a few doors in the building before we left. We took turns choosing and knocking.  Sister Hall went first and we didn’t have much luck with he first guy (English), but he was nice.  We did a few more, all nice but not interested. Then I knocked on a door and a crazy Dominican lady yelled through the door, “WHO IS IT?!” I shouted back, “the missionaries” in the gentlest tone I could muster while still trying to be heard through the clattering on the other side of the door. “WHO?” I repeated, “las misioneras,” to which she yelled even louder, “OH NO, I DONT WANT ANY MISSIONARY HERE!” as she walked away from the door. I asked if we could leave a card at her door and she walked back and yelled, “NO!”  I shrugged and Sister Hall and I went upstairs. We did a few more, no luck, and then went back down the stairs.  As we walked past the lady’s door, I wanted to knock on her door again.  I know it is weird, but sometimes I am all for knocking on doors with yelling people behind them or arguments behind them because I think it’s funny how we get rejected hard core sometimes. I mean, you never know if you’ll be saving someone’s life by stopping an argument out here. Anyway, I looked at Sister Hall and then walked to the door and knocked again. The same “WHO?!” responded. I said that it was the missionaries again and said that we had a question.  This time she opened the door and looked at us and said, “what do you want.” I asked her why she said she didn’t want any missionary.  To make a long story short, we got invited in and shared a message about the Book of Mormon, invited her to church, bore our testimony, and left her a Book of Mormon. We left about 15 minutes later.  It was awesome. Seriously, one of my favorite parts of the mission is seeing the Lord soften peoples’ hearts. He does it just like that (I just snapped my fingers). He really does and it is amazing! He prepares the way and he is right there with us.

Our last appointment of the night was a referral from the Elders to visit a woman named Cindy. We knocked on the door and no one answered. We left a note, but felt like we should knock some more doors just because we hate to leave a building without doing something or having some sort of success. No luck. No luck, then, bingo! This lady opens up and before we even say hi she invites us in. We proceeded with caution and excitement as we got invited in–the Lord had prepared someone to accept our message! (Ha). After we talk for a little bit, we ask her for her name and she says, “Cindy.”  We looked at each other and smiled as we knew Heavenly Father had guided us to her apartment after we were given–unbeknownst to us–the wrong address. We had an awesome lesson and we’re hoping to see them at church.

We just got permission to ride bikes in the city now! I'll be riding this chopper until my new one comes. (Joke).

We just got permission to ride bikes in the city now! I’ll be riding this chopper until my new one comes. (Joke).

We are working hard with Guille and Alejandra and trying to get them to get married to their boyfriends so they can be baptized. It’s tough. They both want to go to Mexico to be married so family can be there, but we don’t know how or when that could happen. It also doesn’t help that both their almost-husbands are anti-church and unwilling to get married. Hmm.  We’ll see.  We’ll pray 🙂 the Lord has a way of softening hearts…

Other than that the work is slowing down a bunch. We are spending more time looking for more solid people to teach. We have so many that just like to have us over to hear “the good word of God.”  Don’t get me wrong–I’m all for that.  But they are not keeping commitments or coming to church or acting in any way to increase their faith. Good thing we are here to help with that! We are trying to convert people to the Lord Jesus Christ by preaching repentance!  Anyway, we’re trying.  And the Lord is helping and blessing us. He is the best. I love Him.

That’s all I got. Transfers are next week and we find out on Saturday what changes are going to be made. I don’t want to leave Concourse yet. There’s still more for me to do, I hope.  But, “Thy will be done.”  Wherever I am I know it is right because the Lord is the one sending me there. I love Him and I am just trying to go and do and be where and what He would have me do.

I love you all! Oh. So. Much.

Duh.

¡Hermana Boud!

P.S. New Year’s resolutions, anyone?

Waiting or the bus. Freezing cold. Late for an appointment. Lady got hit by car. Fire truck and police. The lady was totally ok.  Just look both ways next time.

Waiting for the bus. Freezing cold. Late for an appointment. Lady got hit by car. Fire truck and police. The lady was totally ok. Just look both ways next time.

One of the Bronx courthouses. I'm curious to see if it was ever featured in our old favorite Law and Order.

One of the Bronx courthouses. I’m curious to see if it was ever featured in our old favorite Law and Order.

Leave a Reply

