November 11, 2015 week #68 siembra gozo

11:11:15-1

Hola hola hola

Life is so good!  The year is turning over and all is getting chilly. Ha, I’m breaking out the scarves and gloves and boots and I’m happy to do so.  It is so fun to live in a place where each season is so….real.   I’ve loved watching the snow melt, the flowers bloom, the sun shine, the leaves turn, and now the days growing short.  It’s beautiful.  There really is a time and season for all things.

I love this beautiful earth.

We had zone conference this week, and I felt such a reverence for President Smith as he taught us.  Talk about a boost running into the final quarter of the year.  Also, I thought this was pretty cool–I come home on January 1st.  We are in the harvest now (ignoring winter).  The fall.  The harvest. The Book of Mormon is the sickle, and people are coming to Christ–especially in this holiday season where people’s hearts are softening and their thoughts turn, at least in part, more toward Him. I am so stoked to go go go this November and December! Woo!

By the way, I love each of you so much.

We have had a bunch of meetings recently. It’s a little crazy. Multiple MLCs and visits from visiting general authorities. Zone conference, etc.  For zone conference, we had to prepare a talk about the sabbath day. And I LOVED my preparation for it.  The Bible Dictionary tells us that the sabbath day was first instituted in commemoration for the Lord’s day of rest after the creation.  He rested from His labors, and we remember Him and His hand on that day.  Another reason, which I found SO COOL, was that it was also a time to remember Israel’s deliverance from Egyptian bondage. Hmm, does that have to do with “remembering the captivity of our fathers”?  I’ve read that again and again in the scriptures, and thought it meant just remembering them….honoring them.  And, I think that is true, but I didn’t realize that it could have to do with honoring the sabbath day.  From where did Nephi get all of his blessings? Obedience? Yes.  Keeping the sabbath day holy? I think yes.  He told his brothers,

2 Therefore let us go up; let us be strong like unto Moses; for he truly spake unto the waters of the Red Sea and they divided hither and thither, and our fathers came through, out of captivity, on dry ground, and the armies of Pharaoh did follow and were drowned in the waters of the Red Sea.

3 Now behold ye know that this is true; and ye also know that an angel hath spoken unto you; wherefore can ye doubt? Let us go up; the Lord is able to deliver us, even as our fathers, and to destroy Laban, even as the Egyptians (1 Nephi 4:2-3).

Sounds like he was remembering the captivity of his fathers…..keeping the sabbath day holy. Alma asks

6 And now behold, I say unto you, my brethren, you that belong to this church, have you sufficiently retained in remembrance the captivity of your fathers? Yea, and have you sufficiently retained in remembrance his mercy and long-suffering towards them? And moreover, have ye sufficiently retained in remembrance that he has delivered their souls from hell? (Alma 5:6).

Perhaps keeping the sabbath day holy is where he got his “angelic zeal” referred to in chapter 29:

11 Yea, and I also remember the captivity of my fathers; for I surely do know that the Lord did deliver them out of bondage, and by this did establish his church; yea, the Lord God, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, did deliver them out of bondage.

12 Yea, I have always remembered the captivity of my fathers; and that same God who delivered them out of the hands of the Egyptians did deliver them out of bondage.

13 Yea, and that same God did establish his church among them; yea, and that same God hath called me by a holy calling, to preach the word unto this people, and hath given me much success, in the which my joy  is full.

Talk about magnifying his calling–and I’d bet that part of that spiritual power he had was due to his reverence for the sabbath day.

And the Doctrine and Covenants (section 59) tells us that keeping the sabbath day holy will keep us unspotted from the world.  I am reminded of Moroni’s last words:

33 And again, if ye by the grace of God are perfect in Christ, and deny not his power, then are ye sanctified in Christ by the grace of God, through the shedding of the blood of Christ, which is in the covenant of the Father unto the remission of your sins, that ye become holy, without spot (Moroni 10:33).

That without spot business–I know that comes from the sacrament. Taking that piece of bread and that cup of water. Sanctifying…unto the SOULS of all those who partake of it. Let’s keep our souls without spot.

The last thing in the Bible Dictionary is that the sabbath day is a day to remember and honor the Lord Jesus Christ’s Atonement.  His broken body and spilled blood that He willingly gave for us. So we can be without spot. Sacrament meeting is about 70 minutes long.  10 minutes for Ward or stake business….usually.  Then we have an hour. One hour.

One hour.

Without spot.

Let’s watch with Him, shall we?

I love you all!  I love the sabbath day. It is a gift. It really is a delight.  How blessed we are to have a day to remember the creation and the Lord’s example of rest.  To remember the captivity of our fathers.  To remember the atonement of Jesus Christ.

Have a great week!

Hermana Boud

11:11:15-2

Leave a Reply

