December 16, 2015 Week #73 Life is Good

12:16:15-5

Hola hola hola

ROSA GOT BAPTIZED!!!!!!  Remember her?? From Olmstead?  We found her! Or, rather, she found us.  Her boyfriend’s mom was an active member and her interest was sparked as they talked and she shared her testimony with Rosa.  She came to church with Rosana (her then 6 year old daughter) and we met her there and began teaching her.  Her boyfriend’s mom told her that we don’t drink coffee, and in the first week of us meeting her she quit coffee, unbeknownst to Hermana Geiger and me.  When we got to teach the Word of Wisdom, she explained that she had already quit coffee and explained that the migraines she had the first week we met her were because of the coffee.  She was so cool….she IS so cool!  And her boyfriend recently moved out and now she is baptized.

Tears came to my eyes when I heard the news.  I am so grateful for her and her faith. Her example.  She was so kind.

I am so happy.

12:16:15-412:16:15-3

Awesome week.  So much has happened!  And Christmas is next week….what the heck (at least that is how I feel).  Sister Thompson is the bomb, and we’re having a lot of fun as we figure out the English/Spanish teaching thing again.  We’ve seen some miracles.

On Sunday night we had our combined Ward Christmas devotional. So many people came and brought their friends!  It was a huge success, and more than anything, the Spirit was there. I love music, and my heart was touched as I heard so many different people testifying of their Savior through song.  So many instruments and styles and spirit.  I was sitting on the stand with the choir and was able to look out at Oscar and Christina and Joanne and everyone.  That was pretty neat….I felt like a fly on the wall as they felt the spirit and listened to those words.   I very much enjoyed watching their faces and seeing them smile or close their eyes or tilt their head….I am happy that they felt the Spirit. That is what it’s all about.

I had a tender experience while tracting this week.  We met man named Polo.  He is from Mexico and away from his family for the holidays. It’s been a while since he has seen them.  As we talked, he explained that he used to fill the hole in his heart – from missing his family and the stress of work – with alcohol and drugs.  He was a major alcoholic, but then explained how he had been sober for 18 years. He said the alcohol would never actually help him; in fact, it only made things worse afterwards. Then, he explained a little bit about his faith in Jesus Christ and how it’s helped him move forward. Proudly, he explained that he is now someone that is helping other people in AA struggling with the same problems he had. It felt good to give him a Book of Mormon and share my testimony with him.  That book has increased my faith in Jesus Christ, and I know it’ll do the same for him.

Yesterday we had a returning missionary meeting at the Mission Home. President and Sister Smith gave us a advice about the future and we counseled together on how we can use what we’ve learned and felt in the mission field to bless others as we go home. As I listened and reflected in that meeting, I had the strongest impression that the Book of Mormon is true and that Joseph Smith was a true prophet called by Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ.  The Restoration really did happen, and we will never again have an apostasy on the earth. Thomas S. Monson will not lead us astray, and I sustain our dear prophet.  I am so grateful we have a living prophet, and that we will never have an apostasy again.

Before I came out to serve, I didn’t realize that one of the greatest blessings I would receive while serving as a missionary would be that my own testimony would increase and strengthen tenfold, and that I would come to learn to recognize the voice of the spirit.  What a blessing! I am so grateful for our Savior. I know He lives and loves us.  He is so kind.

So kind.

Life is so good.  I love my mission.  And I love the Lord. And I love you. Vamos!

Hermana Boud

12:16:15-2

Time for a haircut.

12:16:15-1

Me. A missionary. 🙂

Leave a Reply

