December 30, 2015 Week #75 Feliz Año Nuevo!

12:30:15-1

Singing Happy Birthday to Dora with the Skriloffs and the Brants!

Hola hola hola–Feliz Navidad!

Christmas was wonderful.  I love Christmas time, and how special it is as a missionary. On His team and trying even more to do as He did.

There is such a special spirit that accompanies serving others.

Christ’s whole LIFE was service. Taking people by the hand and raising them up.  Not just telling them to “get up.”  Not just words….actions do speak louder.

Ha, on Christmas Eve we were giving out free hot chocolate with Books of Mormon and showing people the new video. It was so warm though! New York had some freak heat thing and it was in the high 60s. We should have been passing out lemonade!  Ha.  A tender mercy for me was seeing Polo again.  We tracted into him a couple of weeks ago and the elders teach him now.  He walked past and said, “Yo les conozco… (I know them…)” Ha!  It was so great to see him again.  He is doing well.

On Christmas we visited with a less active member.  Just stopped by for a quick visit, not wanting to take up her time.  She received us so warmly and was so lonely.   We talked about the birth of Jesus Christ and how all of eternity hangs on it.  Her capacity to love and empathize with others is incredible, and I appreciated seeing her love for the Savior.  Oh, that tender Babe in Bethlehem.

I can’t believe I’ve come to January and it’s my turn to return home.

Ha, family and friends almost seem like a dream–a good dream, but one that has been so distant for so long! I’ve heard of people saying that when you get home the mission feels like a dream.  Hmmmm…….I don’t want that.  It’s a part of me.  Prayer, scripture study, service, sacrifice (Jacob Bryson’s homecoming?) sums it up for me.  That was my time in New York, and I plan on that being the rest of my time on planet earth and beyond!  The Bronx and Poughkeepsie are sacred to me because I served and loved God’s children here with more real intent and prayer and purpose and consistency than anywhere else at any other time in my life.  I love these people!

But, it will only get better. I’m sure of it.

Let the adventure continue!

Having many things to write unto you, I would not write with paper and ink: but I trust to come unto you, and speak face to face, that our joy may be full. 2 John 1:12

Love love love. And more!

Hermana Boud

Leave a Reply

